Whidbey Island Sunrises and Sunsets

Oak Harbor, Washington. Windmill in Windjammer Park at Sunrise

We are very fortunate here on Whidbey Island to have some of the most incredible sunrises and sunsets.  A combination of relatively clear skies (thanks to the Olympic Rain Shadow), open vistas, and ice crystals in the air high overhead, make our winter sunrises and sunsets especially spectacular.  The picture at left was taken by me one morning on the way to work.  It wasn’t much of a detour as the Windmill in Windjammer Park is located in downtown Oak Harbor, conveniently across the street from my office!

Mount Rainier, looking across Oak Harbor & Penn Cove from downtown Oak Harbor

The second picture was taken by me at sunset just before New Year’s.  This picture was taken from the deck of a waterfront condominium overlooking the harbor in downtown Oak Harbor, with Penn Cove and Mount Rainier in the distance. 

In less than a week I have  received dozens of comments from people around the world admiring this picture.   The sunsets in summer are also spectacular on Whidbey Island.  One of my favorite things to do in the summer is to grab an ice cream cone and drive out to Joseph Whidbey State Park on West Beach to walk the dogs along the beach and watch the sunset.  Just one of the many benefits of island living!  

 
 
About halhovey

A transplant from the east coast, I spent many years living in the deserts of Arizona and Nevada before finally finding a little piece of paradise on Whidbey Island that I call home. This is where I chose to raise my kids, set down roots, and eventually retire. In my blog I hope to share timely information and statitistics about our local real estate market, as well as a few of the people, places and homes around Whidbey Island that I find special, or interesting.
This entry was posted in Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

